Bet on the Pegasus Stakes

Bet on the Pegasus Stakes

A grade 3 race for three year-olds at Monmouth Park, the Pegasus Stakes has managed to attract top talent since its inception in 1981. The mile and one sixteenth event is a precursor to larger east coast three year-old races such as the Grade 1 Haskell, also at Monmouth, and the Grade 1 Travers Stakes at Saratoga. The Pegasus is held annually in June and boasts many high-profile and successful runners among its past winners. 

Online Racebook Guide

Finding the right online racebook is about more than just convenience. With more rebate and bonus dollars to be earned than ever, horse players can and should reap the rewards of a generous and modern racebook. Wagering platforms such as Bovada's offer 3% rebates on all straight wagers and 5% on all exotic bets.  


* REMINDER! – you must be of legal age in your state or province to legally wager on thoroughbred or harness horse racing. Please bet responsibly!

Pegasus Stakes Betting Odds

In the 2015 Pegasus, the up-and-coming Mr. Jordan earned his fourth victory in six career starts with a sharp stalk and pounce effort. Sent to post at odds of 2/1, Mr. Jordan outdueld Tekton who paid $5.60 and $3.40 to place and show and Good Pick Nick ($2.80 to show). Mr. Jordan returned $6, $3.60 and $2.60. While modest payouts, users of Bovada’s Racebook always earn more for their wagering dollar with 3% rebates on all straight bets and 5% on all exotic wagers. 

2016 Pegasus Stakes Contenders

With a field of seven assembled for the 2016 Pegasus Stakes, a field of seven three year-old colts will contest the mile and one sixteenth event led by the undefeatd Unified who has beeen sensational in his three career starts. Trained by James Jerkens, Unified has been victorious in consecutive stakes races, winning the Grade 3 Bay Shore Stakes and Grade 2 Peter Pan Stakes in succession. Unified appears to have found a comfortable spot against his six rivals, but will have to show that he can take his game on the road and handle a new track while leaving the state of New York for the first time. Junior Ortiz will have the mount, breaking from post 4.

Post Position

1) Awesome Slew

2) Extinct Charm

3) Saratoga Jack

4) Unified

5) Memories of Winter

6) Donegal Moon

7) Abiding Star 

Did you know?

In terms of notoriety, the Pegasus probably doesn’t get its proper due despite an impressive list of past winners. 1985 winner Skip Trial went on to sire three-time Horse of the Year Skip Away, and 1986 winner Danzig Connection won the race following his signature victory in that year’s Belmont Stakes. Danzig Connection is the only Pegasus winner to have won a Triple Crown race. 1987 winner Cryptoclearance was an elite horse in his own right, winning the Florida Derby and Donn Handicap before going on to a very successful stud career. In 1988, Jim Dandy Stakes and Florida Derby winner Brian’s time continued the successful run of Pegasus winners. 2001 winner Volponi went on to capture the 2002 Breeders’ Cup Classic at odds of 44/1 making him the only Pegasus winner to win a Breeders’ Cup event. Other notable winners of the Pegasus include multiple stakes winners Behrens (1997) and Verrazano (2013). Jockeys Jose Santos and Edgar Prado have each won the Pegasus Stakes three times making them the winningest riders in race history.